ENGLISH

Lyndhurst

Book information

Publisher
Arcadia Publishing
ISBN
9780738584201, 0738584207
Language
english
Format
EPUB
Filesize
60 MB (62786430 bytes)
Series
Images of America
Pages
127 pages : chiefly illustrations, maps ; 24 cm\0
Time added
2020-07-26 19:24:52

Description

"Moses Cleaveland was sent to survey the lands of the Western Reserve of Connecticut into townships in 1796. Due to a strike, the surveyors were given plots within the new Euclid Township as part of their compensation. They sold these plots to arriving settlers from the east. Aristarkus and Sarah Brainard, the area's first family, arrived in 1831. In 1877 the Mayfield Plank Road was constructed, allowing a steady stream of people and goods to easily travel from Eastern farms to markets found at Doan's Corners in Cleveland, Ohio. As this part of Euclid Township grew, the area became Euclidville Village, later changed to Lyndhurst Village in 1920. The post-World War II building boom brought many young families to Lyndhurst and transformed the sleepy village into a charming 21st century suburb"--Page 4 of cover.

Similar books